2002 Chevrolet Impala Complaints and Reviews

Summary


687

NHTSA Complaints and Reviews

Complaints and Reviews issued by the NHTSA for the 2002 Chevrolet Impala


For more details, contact the dealer.

Car Component Date VIN City State Involved in Crash? Involved in fire? Description
POWER TRAIN 30 Mar 2013 LONGS SC No No THE CAR WILL NOT CRANK IMMEDIATELY. ONCE STARTED IF YOUR FOOT IS NOT ON THE GAS THE CAR WILL COMPLETELY SHUT OFF. CANNOT TAKE FOOT OFF THE GAS WHEN DRIVING OR SHIFTING GEARS OR IT STALLS. *TR
FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM 30 Mar 2013 LONGS SC No No THE CAR WILL NOT CRANK IMMEDIATELY. ONCE STARTED IF YOUR FOOT IS NOT ON THE GAS THE CAR WILL COMPLETELY SHUT OFF. CANNOT TAKE FOOT OFF THE GAS WHEN DRIVING OR SHIFTING GEARS OR IT STALLS. *TR
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM 17 Jan 2013 2G1WH55K029 ORLANDO FL No No TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE PARKED THE FUEL GAUGE READING FLUCTUATED FROM FULL TO EMPTY. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. ADDITIONALLY, THE HEADLIGHTS WOULD NOT ILLUMINATE WHEN THE CONTACT TURNED THE EXT
FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM 17 Jan 2013 2G1WH55K029 ORLANDO FL No No TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE PARKED THE FUEL GAUGE READING FLUCTUATED FROM FULL TO EMPTY. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. ADDITIONALLY, THE HEADLIGHTS WOULD NOT ILLUMINATE WHEN THE CONTACT TURNED THE EXT
COMMUNICATIONS:HORN ASSEMBLY 20 Dec 2012 2G1WH55K729 KENNER LA No No TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HORN BEGAN SOUNDING INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION BUT THEY COULD NOT DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE
VISIBILITY/WIPER 11 Dec 2012 2G1WF55E229 LIVONIA MI No No TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, THE REAR WINDSHIELD SUDDENLY SHATTERED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A WINDOW REPAIR SHOP WHERE THE MECHANIC REPLACED THE REAR WINDSHIELD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DEFROSTER
ENGINE 03 Dec 2012 2G1WF52E529 TOMS RIVER NJ No No SAFETY FLASHES ON DASHBOARD AND CAR WILL NOT START FOR 10 TO 15 MINUTES. IT HAPPENS TOTALLY AT RANDOM TIMES IN ALL KINDS OF WEATHER. DISCONNECTING THE BATTERY DOES NOT HELP NOR DOES RESETTING A FUSE WITH A KILL SWITCH. THIS IS A WIDELY KNOWN PROBLEM WH
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM 03 Dec 2012 2G1WF52E529 TOMS RIVER NJ No No SAFETY FLASHES ON DASHBOARD AND CAR WILL NOT START FOR 10 TO 15 MINUTES. IT HAPPENS TOTALLY AT RANDOM TIMES IN ALL KINDS OF WEATHER. DISCONNECTING THE BATTERY DOES NOT HELP NOR DOES RESETTING A FUSE WITH A KILL SWITCH. THIS IS A WIDELY KNOWN PROBLEM WH
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM 23 Nov 2012 2G1WF55E129 RACINE WI No No TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE AIR BAG AND SECURITY WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED AND ST
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM 28 Jun 2011 DEARBORN MI No No ON THE IP THE IGNITION KEY IS NOT FUNCTIONAL EVERY ONCE A WHILE AND IT DOES REQUIRE A 10 MINUTES WAIT IN THE VEHICLE WITH THE KEY IN THE IGNITION BEFORE YOU CAN FIRE THE ENGINE. THIS ISSUE BEEN PERSISTING FOR THE LAST 2 YEARS. I DO WONDER IF THIS PROBLEM
SEATS:FRONT ASSEMBLY:SEAT HEATER/COOLER 16 Jun 2011 2G1WH55K729 TECUMSEH OK No yes TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE UNOCCUPIED VEHICLE IGNITED INTO FLAMES WHILE PARKED. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE YET A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE FAILURE WAS CONTRIBUTED TO THE ELECTRICAL WIRI
EQUIPMENT 06 Jun 2011 2G1WH55K929 BOWLING GREEN KY yes No ON OCTOBER 11, 2010, WAS STOPPED FOR A LEFT TURN, IN MY 2002 CHEVROLET IMPALA. I WAS HIT FROM THE BACK BY A PICKUP TRUCK. UPON IMPACT, MY ONSTAR MIRROR CAME LOOSE FROM THE WINDSHIELD AND THE CABLE BECAME A WEAPON IN THE CAR WITH THE MIRROR STILL ATTACHED.
STEERING 03 Jun 2011 2G1W855K629 TROY MT No No TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER AND THE POWER STEERING WOULD NOT FUNCTION. THE CONTACT DROVE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIANS STATED
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM 19 May 2011 MILWAUKEE WI No No CAR WOULD NOT START. TRIED ABOUT 10 - 100 TIMES AND IT WOULD USUALLY TURN OVER. HAPPENING OVER THE LAST YEAR, BUT GETTING WORSE (CAR WILL NOT START RIGHT AWAY FOR LAST THREE DAYS!). EVERYTHING INSIDE CAR (LIGHTS, RADIO, ETC.) IS ON BUT ENGINE WILL NOT
FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE 02 May 2011 2G1WF55K529 NOVI MI No No TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THE GAS GAUGE DOES NOT READ THE FUEL LEVELS PROPERLY. WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE, THE FUEL GAUGE WOULD DRIFT INDICATE THAT THE FUEL TANK WAS FULL AND THEN IT WOULD DISPLAY HALF FULL AND EMPTY
AIR BAGS:FRONTAL 11 Apr 2011 2G1WF52E729 CHEPACHET RI yes No I FELL ASLEEP AT THE WHEEL AND WAS HEADING STRAIGHT FOR A TELEPHONE POLE. I AWOKE AT LAST SECOND AND MANAGED TO SWERVE TO AVOID HITTING POLE HEAD ON, IN WHICH CASE I WOULD PROBABLY BE DEAD. DOCTORS SAID I WAS LUCKY TO BE ALIVE EVEN THOUGH I WORE MY SEATB
EXTERIOR LIGHTING 07 Mar 2011 2G1WF52E029 WILTON ND No No TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE HEADLIGHTS FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY AND WHEN THE TURN SIGNAL MECHANISM WAS SLIGHTLY JOLTED THE HEADLIGHTS WOULD OPERATE. THE VEHICLE W
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM 18 Feb 2011 DOTHAN AL No No MY 02 CHEVY IMPALA HAS ISSUES WITH THE STARTING SYSTEM. I HAVE NO KNOW ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR EXCEPT SOMETIMES IT WILL NOT START AND HOURS OF TRYING TO START THE CAR IT STARTS. I EVEN TRIED TO SHORT OUT MY STARTER AND THAT DIDN'T WORK. IT WAS I
EXTERIOR LIGHTING 17 Feb 2011 2G1WH55K329 GREENFIELD WI No No BOTH HEADLIGHTS SHUT OFF AT NIGHT WITH NO WARNING. SOMETIMES LOW LIGHTS TURN OFF AND THEN COME BACK ON AFTER A FEW SECONDS. SOMETIMES HIGH LIGHTS SHUT OFF AND DO NOT COME BACK ON UNLESS THE LIGHTS ARE MANUALLY SWITCHED TO LOW. THIS HAPPENS AS MUCH AS O
EXTERIOR LIGHTING 14 Feb 2011 2G1WH55K929 LANSING IA No No I OWN A 2002 CHEVROLET IMPALA LS 4D. I WOULD BE DRIVING AT NIGHT WITH THE HEADLIGHTS ON AND FOR NO REASON BOTH HEADLIGHTS WOULD TURN OFF, DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD WITHOUT ABILITY TO SEE. WHEN I THEN I THEN HIT THE HIGH/LOW DIMMER SWITCH SEVERAL TIMES WITH M
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM 06 Feb 2011 ETHEL LA yes No MY CAR LEAVES ME STRANDED FOR HOURS BEFORE IT STARTS. PASSLOCK/PASSKEY II IS THE WORST THING CHEVY EVER CREATED. WHILE DRIVING THE GAUGES GO OFF AND ON; AND THE CAR SHUTS THE FUEL OFF. BEING SAID MY SISTER USED MY CAR ONE DAY AND THE FUEL SHUT OFF, THE CA
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM 07 Jan 2011 AURORA IL No No PASSLOCK 2 SYSTEM FAILED CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO STALL WHILE DRIVING. VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. *TR
ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING 07 Jan 2011 AURORA IL No No HEAD GASKET FAILURE. HEAD GASKETS ARE DEFECTIVE ON THE 3400 SERIES ENGINES. THE COOLANT USED IN THESE VEHICLES CAUSES PREMATURE EROSION IN THE HEAD GASKET. *TR
SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC 03 Jan 2011 2G1WF55E429 ATOKA TN No No MY ABS LIGHT STAYS ON AND HAVING AN ISSUE WITH THE BRAKES, MAKING AWFUL GRINDING NOISE WHILE DRIVING ON A STRAIGHT AWAY. DOES IT RATHER ROADS ARE WET OR DRY. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS . I HAVE READ MANY MANY OWNERS OF THE 2002 CHEVY IMPALAS ARE HAVING THIS I
SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC 03 Jan 2011 2G1WF55E429 ATOKA TN No No MY ABS LIGHT STAYS ON AND HAVING AN ISSUE WITH THE BRAKES, MAKING AWFUL GRINDING NOISE WHILE DRIVING ON A STRAIGHT AWAY. DOES IT RATHER ROADS ARE WET OR DRY. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS . I HAVE READ MANY MANY OWNERS OF THE 2002 CHEVY IMPALAS ARE HAVING THIS I
SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC 03 Jan 2011 2G1WF55E429 ATOKA TN No No MY ABS LIGHT STAYS ON AND HAVING AN ISSUE WITH THE BRAKES, MAKING AWFUL GRINDING NOISE WHILE DRIVING ON A STRAIGHT AWAY. DOES IT RATHER ROADS ARE WET OR DRY. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS . I HAVE READ MANY MANY OWNERS OF THE 2002 CHEVY IMPALAS ARE HAVING THIS I
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM 16 Dec 2010 WESTVILLE IN No No HEADLIGHTS SUDDENLY WENT OUT WHILE IN OPERATION. *TR
EXTERIOR LIGHTING 16 Dec 2010 WESTVILLE IN No No HEADLIGHTS SUDDENLY WENT OUT WHILE IN OPERATION. *TR
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM 02 Dec 2010 2G1WH55K529 EAST MEADOW NY No No TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD NO POWER WHEN HE ATTEMPTED TO START IT. THE CONTACT REPLACED THE BATTERY THE FIRST TIME BUT THE REMEDY DID NOT CORRECT THE PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY A MECHAN
VISIBILITY 01 Dec 2010 2G1WF55EX29 CINCINNATI OH No No BROUGHT CAR AND WINDSHIELD WIPERS WERE NOT TIMED CORRECTLY AND I NEEDED A PART CALLED PLAW - THE COMPANY SAID THEY WERE FIXED BUT, NOT 3 MONTHS LATER WHEN HEAVY RAIN CAME MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS ARE ON MY WINDSHIELD STRAIGHT UP AND DOWN RIGHT IN FRONT OF WHA
STEERING 01 Dec 2010 2G1WF55EX29 CINCINNATI OH No No BROUGHT CAR AND WINDSHIELD WIPERS WERE NOT TIMED CORRECTLY AND I NEEDED A PART CALLED PLAW - THE COMPANY SAID THEY WERE FIXED BUT, NOT 3 MONTHS LATER WHEN HEAVY RAIN CAME MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS ARE ON MY WINDSHIELD STRAIGHT UP AND DOWN RIGHT IN FRONT OF WHA
EXTERIOR LIGHTING 30 Nov 2010 2G1WH55K229 CARTHAGE MO No No 2002 CHEVROLET IMPALA HEADLAMPS GO OFF WHILE DRIVING WHEN HIGH BEAMS ARE ON. FREQUENCY IS EVERYTIME HIGH BEAMS ARE USED. RESEARCHED PROBLEM ON INTERNET AND FOUND THIS IS COMMON PROBLEM. WHY WILL GM NOT RECOGNIZE THIS AS A SAFETY RECALL SITUATION? *TR
ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE 15 Nov 2010 PARMA OH No No LEAKING UPPER AND LOWER INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKETS,CAR OVERHEATING AND RUNNING POORLY.OCCURED AT 55,000 MILES AND AGAIN AT 110,000 MI.. GASKETS REPLACED FOR 900.00 EACH TIME,OLD GASKETS AERE AVAILABLE. *TR
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM 14 Nov 2010 2G1WF55E029 LARGO FL No No 2002 IMPALA "PASSKEY" SYSTEM FAILS... NO START CONDITION, LEAVES DRIVER AND PASSENGERS STRANDED.
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM 12 Nov 2010 LIBERTY HILL TX No No INTERMITTENT PASSLOCK FAILURE CAUSED CAR NOT TO START HAVE TO WAIT 20-30 MINUTES TO START MY CAR. *TR
ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING 09 Nov 2010 2G1WH55K329 LOUISVILLE CT No yes TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT APPROACHED THE PARKED VEHICLE AND SMELLED A STRONG BURNING ODOR COMING FROM UNDERNEATH THE HOOD. THE HOOD WAS RELEASED AND THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT WAS COMPLETELY MELTED. THERE WERE NO FLAMES. THE VEH
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:STARTER ASSEMBLY 08 Nov 2010 2G1WH55K629 HANFORD CA No No TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SECURITY WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED AND THE STARTER FAILED. THE DEALER INSPECTED THE CHARGING SYSTEM AND DETERMINED THAT THE STARTER HAD A DEFECTIVE SOLENOID. THE DEALER REPLACED
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM 01 Nov 2010 MUSKOGEE OK No No AT TIMES THE CAB OF THE 2002 CHEVY IMPALA SEEMS TO OVERHEAT AND WHEN YOU TRY TO START IT ALL OF THE WARNING LIGHTS FLASH, INCLUDING HEADLIGHTS, THEN IT WON'T START. *TR
ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING 01 Nov 2010 MUSKOGEE OK No No AT TIMES THE CAB OF THE 2002 CHEVY IMPALA SEEMS TO OVERHEAT AND WHEN YOU TRY TO START IT ALL OF THE WARNING LIGHTS FLASH, INCLUDING HEADLIGHTS, THEN IT WON'T START. *TR
SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC 27 Oct 2010 2G1WH55K129 ST CLAIRSVILLE OH No No TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED WHEN THE SECURITY WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IF THE VEHICLE WAS BEING DRIVEN WHILE THE WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED, THE VEHICLE WOU
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:IGNITION:ANTI-THEFT CONTROLLER 27 Oct 2010 2G1WH55K129 ST CLAIRSVILLE OH No No TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED WHEN THE SECURITY WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IF THE VEHICLE WAS BEING DRIVEN WHILE THE WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED, THE VEHICLE WOU
ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING 26 Oct 2010 ORL FL No No 2002 IMPALA IN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT BOX THE LOW COOLANT LIGHT AND THE SECURITY LIGHTS ALSO SHOWS AND THE BATTERY LIGHT THEN THE ENGINE DIES IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC I HAVE SEEN SO MANY AND MORE PEOPLE WITH IMPALAS IN DANGEROUS MOMENTS TALKING OF IT ONLI
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM 26 Oct 2010 ORL FL No No 2002 IMPALA IN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT BOX THE LOW COOLANT LIGHT AND THE SECURITY LIGHTS ALSO SHOWS AND THE BATTERY LIGHT THEN THE ENGINE DIES IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC I HAVE SEEN SO MANY AND MORE PEOPLE WITH IMPALAS IN DANGEROUS MOMENTS TALKING OF IT ONLI
TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM 23 Oct 2010 2G1WH55K229 OXFORD MA No No WHEN WHEELS ARE TURNED TO THE RIGHT EITHER SLIGHTLY OR ALL THE WAY THE TRACTION CONTROL KICKS IN, LOSS OF POWER AND LOSS OF BRAKES WHEN ABS ALSO KICKS IN. BOUGHT THE 2002 CHEVY IMPALA LS JUST A WEEK AGO. THIS ISSUE STARTED AS VERY INTERMITTENT BUT I CAN R
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL 14 Oct 2010 CANTON MI No No 2002 CHEVY IMPALA. BOUGHT NEW. THE SPEEDOMETER AND THE FUEL GAGE STARTED TO ACT ERRATICALLY TWO YEARS AGO. THE SPEEDOMETER FAILED COMPLETELY LAST YEAR. IT SHOWS INFINITE SPEED FOR EXAMPLE WHILE IDLING. NO WAY TO KNOW HOW FAST THE CAR IS GOING. THOUSANDS O
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM 12 Oct 2010 2G1WF55E629 LOS ANGELES CA No No TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SECURITY SYSTEM ON THE VEHICLE WOULD LOCK UP AND THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START AS A RESULT. THE FAILURE OCCURRED AT LEAST ONCE EVERY WEEK AT ANY TIME. THE CONTACT WOULD HAVE TO WAIT AN
TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM 29 Sep 2010 2G1WH55K329 HENDERSONVILLE NC No No HAVE HAD "TRACTION CONTROL" PROBLEMS FOR 2 YEARS. WAS TOLD MANY THINGS COULD CAUSE THIS. NOW DRIVING WITH NO TRACTION CONTROL AND NO ABS, JUST REGULAR BRAKES. HAVE REPLACED HUBS AND BRAKES. HAVE TO FILE FOR WAIVER FOR INSPECTION. WILL TRY REPLACING ABS PU
SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC 29 Sep 2010 2G1WH55K329 HENDERSONVILLE NC No No HAVE HAD "TRACTION CONTROL" PROBLEMS FOR 2 YEARS. WAS TOLD MANY THINGS COULD CAUSE THIS. NOW DRIVING WITH NO TRACTION CONTROL AND NO ABS, JUST REGULAR BRAKES. HAVE REPLACED HUBS AND BRAKES. HAVE TO FILE FOR WAIVER FOR INSPECTION. WILL TRY REPLACING ABS PU
EXTERIOR LIGHTING:HEADLIGHTS 13 Sep 2010 2G1WF52E529 TFLUGERVILLE TX No No TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEADLIGHTS WOULD BECOME FILLED WITH WATER WHENEVER IT WOULD RAIN. THE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED AND RESEALED YET THE HEADLIGHTS CONTINUED TO RETAIN MOISTURE. IN ADDITION, THE
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM 24 Aug 2010 2G1WH55K329 GREEN ISLAND NY No No UNKNOWN REASON AS TO WHY THE DIRECTIONALS ON MY 02 IMPALA WORK INTERMITTENTLY. THIS FIRST OCCURRED APPROXIMATELY 4 MONTHS AGO WITH AVERAGE OCCURRENCE OF ONCE A WEEK. NOW IT OCCURS APPROXIMATELY ONCE A DAY. MECHANIC CANNOT FIND A SOLID REASON AS TO WHY TH
 
  • Copyright © 2007-2013 PriceHub, Inc. All rights reserved.